When fortune smiles

When fortune smiles

Even the mightiest rivers will bend
   before they vanish, in the sand
   even the tallest of timbers will fall
   easy to fall, ain’t easy to land
  
   well that’s a curse of mine
   seems everything I find
   keeps fallin’ till it cannot fall
   well that’s a curse of mine
   in the best of times
   keep fallin’ till I cannot fall
  
   That’s when fortune smiled on you
   I’d say fortune smiled
   hen you went runnin’
   away from these arms
  
   the first will be last and the
   last will be drunk
   goes down, easy, easy come
  
   well that’s a curse of mine
   never look behind
   don’t look into the swath I cut
   well that’s a curse of mine
   never look behind
   deep into the swath I cut
  
   That’s when fortune smiled on you
   I’d say fortune smiled
   when you went runnin’
   away from these arms
   these are the last things,
   the things that will last
   the knife in my tears, the
   jail of my fears
  
   well that’s a curse of mine
   well that’s a curse of mine
   well that’s a curse of mine
   wicked and divine
   shoulda’ never tried to love me
  
   That’s when fortune smiled on you
   I’d say fortune smiled
   when you went runnin’
   away from these arms
  
   when you went runnin’
   away from these arms
   hmmmmm … when you went runnin’

Leave a Reply

