The leaving kind

The leaving kind

Trying hard to remember your voice
   it seems so faarway
  
   all choked up by the heat and
   the dust
   it seems so faraway
  
   I’m gonna give you a call, from this
   air conditioned bar
   gonna give it one more crack
  
   before these cocktail lights
   all disappear
   like the night wind on my back
  
   I’m not the leavin’ kind
   but I’ve got leavin’on my mind
   from Jim Town, to Halfway, then back
   across the riverside
  
   it’s not hard to build a flat,
   straight road
   across this treeless plain
  
   just follow, the sharp-edge
   of the earth
   and never, never stray
  
   I’m not the leavin’ kind
   though I’ve got leavin’ on my mind
  
   from Jim Town, to Halfway,
   then back across the riverside
   I’m not the leavin’ kind
   though I’ll be leavin’ one more time
   from Jim Town, to Flatop, then down
   across the riverside
  
   from Jim Town, to Halfway,
   then back across the riverside
   from Jim Town, to Flatop,
   then down along the riverside
   from Jim Town, to Halfway,
   then back across the riverside
   from Jim Town, to Flatop…

Leave a Reply

