Last ditch

Last ditch

This is the last ditch ever I dug
   Once there were motives but they have been lost
   Dig thorugh the sand still you end at the rock
   This is the ditch that I dug
  
   These are the blankets that we should have worn
   Now marrow is soaking and taken with cold
   Us rag and bone merchants have just greed to lose
   This is the ditch that I dug
  
   The ditch it lies empty and waits for your laugh
   My head was your shovel and I was your back
   And sweat made the river that cut through the flat
   This is the ditch that I dug
   This is the ditch that I dug
  
   The crows haven’t eaten the scraps they were fed
   The crows they stay honest and keep to themselves
   Their silence infected my stitches gone loose
   There will be rain today, yes
   There will be rain today

Leave a Reply

Last ditch

Last ditch

This is the last ditch ever I dug
   Once there were motives but they have been lost
   Dig thorugh the sand still you end at the rock
   This is the ditch that I dug
  
   These are the blankets that we should have worn
   Now marrow is soaking and taken with cold
   Us rag and bone merchants have just greed to lose
   This is the ditch that I dug
  
   The ditch it lies empty and waits for your laugh
   My head was your shovel and I was your back
   And sweat made the river that cut through the flat
   This is the ditch that I dug
   This is the ditch that I dug
  
   The crows haven’t eaten the scraps they were fed
   The crows they stay honest and keep to themselves
   Their silence infected my stitches gone loose
   There will be rain today, yes
   There will be rain today

Leave a Reply

