Cold eye

Cold eye

Painted so many towns
   painted them up and down
   down to the broken ground
   pointed the last one, for now
  
   soon I will stow away
   into the cool nightshade
   watching fireworks fly
   in the reservation sky
  
   found only hell to pay
   draggin’ these bones all day
   sun-up to cocktail time
   dragged ’em till I was blind
  
   the field full of also-rans
   stealin’ my used up plans
   all of my friends were there
   They could’nt believe I cared
  
   when I put my cold eye to it
   when I put my cold eye to it
   and I couldn’t say no
  
   luck is the thing I make
   luck is the thing you break
   after it all went wrong
   before I was good as gone
  
   deep in the beggin’ bowl
   I found some scraps to take
   drank from your poison jar
   found I was wide awake
  
   when I, put my cold eye to it
   when I, put my cold eye to it
   and I never said no, no I
   never said no
  
   when I, put my cold eye to it
   when I, put my cold eye to it
   Yes, I put my cold eye to it
   and I never said no, no I
   never said no

Leave a Reply

